2011

I am looking at my calendar and am shocked that we are in the last month of 2011. Where in the world did my year go?? I feel like I’ve been robbed and left with one hand full of… nothing. Absolutely nothing.

And the other hand, hidden behind my back, is filled with a million experiences and failures and shortcomings and… hope.

There’s a lot of hope left in there.

This year has been the year for challenges.

2011 was the year I took time off work. It was the year I learned more about myself than I ever thought humanly possible. It was the year my best friend and I celebrated three years of marriage.

It’s been the year of tears and heartache… of bad decisions and a whole lot of grace. Scratch that. Make that “more grace than I could ever put in to words”.

The year of learning what it means to love – and be loved.

2011 will forever be etched in my heart as “the year” for many reasons.

Most importantly, 2011 was the year that John and I realized how empty life without Jesus is. We made a whole lot of mistakes that ended up forcing us to our knees in hopelessness… only to discover that there and only there – on our knees and begging for Truth – is true hope found.

We are far from where we want to be… but this journey has begun and we are excited.

 

I am going to try to be better about blogging this year. Mostly so that I can comment on my big sister’s baby blog over here… but also because I believe writing is excellent therapy.

 

So here’s to our last month of 2011 – I can’t wait to see what’s in store.

About Rachel Halsey

i'm like a faucet that leaks, but there is comfort in the sound.

Leave a Reply

Pages

Archives

stats

  • 9,073 views
